Announcement

2013 Winner of the Jan-Benedict E.M. Steenkamp Award for Long-Term Impact

The European Marketing Academy (EMAC) and the International Journal of Research in Marketing (IJRM) are pleased to announce the 2013 winner of the Steenkamp Award:

Rik Pieters and Luk Warlop (1999). *Visual attention during brand choice: The impact of time pressure and task motivation*, IJRM Volume 16 (1), pages 1-16.

Abstract:

Measures derived from eye-movement data reveal that during brand choice consumers adapt to time pressure by accelerating the visual scanning sequence, by filtering information and by changing their scanning strategy. In addition, consumers with high task motivation filter brand information less and pictorial information more. Consumers under time pressure filter textual ingredient information more, and pictorial information less. The results of a conditional logit analysis reveal that the chosen brand receives significantly more intrabrand and inter-brand saccades and longer fixation durations than non-chosen brands, independent of time pressure and task motivation conditions. Implications for the theory of consumer attention and for pretesting of packaging and shelf lay-outs are discussed.

From the Jury:

The committee selected "Visual Attention During Brand Choice: The Impact of Time Pressure and Task Motivation" by Rik Pieters and Luk Warlop as the recipient of the 2013 Jan-Benedict E.M. Steenkamp Award for Long Term Impact, in consideration of: (i) the high quality of the paper, reflected among others by the rigor with which its studies were designed and analyzed, (ii) the significant and early contribution the paper made to the literature that studies attention using process data such as eye tracking, (iii) the number of citations received by the paper, (iv) the number votes received by the paper from the IJRM editorial board members.

The committee congratulates the recipients with this important expression of recognition of their outstanding article.

Jury Members

Olivier Toubia (*Columbia University, USA*) (chair), Simona Botti (*London Business School, UK*), Bas Donkers (*Erasmus University Rotterdam, The Netherlands*), and Roland T. Rust (*University of Maryland, USA*)

Selection Procedure:

A four-member Award Committee, formed by the *IJRM* editor and the EMAC VP of Publications, managed the nomination and selection procedure. The members of the committee do not themselves have papers that are eligible for the award.

Papers eligible for the Steenkamp Award are those published in *IJRM* 10 to 15 years prior to the year the award is being presented. For 2013, these are papers from 1998 to 2003. Nominations were first solicited from EMAC members and *IJRM* Board members. These papers, with their latest ISI and Google Scholar citations, formed the first-round ballot from which *IJRM* Board members voted for up to 5 papers. The ten (10) papers with the most votes then formed the shortlist for the second-round of voting in which *IJRM* Board members chose only one (1) paper. The award committee members then ranked the top papers that emerged as leading contenders from this final round of voting in terms of the criteria named above.
